Could it take any longer?

18 Sep

I am a brand new mommy to TWO children now.  My oldest is 3 and my new little girl is 3 weeks.  I’ve always been one to sleep as late as possible and then run out of the door to get to work or anywhere else I need to be.  Once my son was born that changed…however, not too terribly bad because all I had to do was put him in the carseat and go!  Well, then he got older and began to get his own ideas about things.  He has to get one more train before we leave, or he has to potty, or he just doesn’t want to go.  This adds more time onto my departure routine.

Now that baby sister has come along things take even longer!  What used to take me 5 minutes now takes at least 20.  It is like a 3 ring circus around here.  Trying to calm her down to get her into the car seat while trying to coax older brother into his clothes and shoes takes a good 10 minutes.  Then I have to get him to turn the TV off while not going into meltdown about missing “his shows”.  Once I get them out of the door it is a process to get him into the car because he found his lawnmower in the garage and now he has to play.  If I can get him into the car he has to crawl around and look for lost toys before he gets into his seat, and now he is into doing everything by himself…so it is a good 5 minutes to talk him through buckling the belts!  Around the time he gets in and gets settled, baby sister has decided she doesn’t like her car seat anymore and begins to cry!

I’m now 10 minutes late and haven’t even left the house yet!  I’m sure things will get easier (right???) and I’ll get a routine going but you know what?  I wouldn’t change it for anything in the world.  I love my babies and I am very blessed to have them.  So I’m an hour late to everything…who cares?  🙂

3 Responses to “Could it take any longer?”

  1. Android Travels (@Android_Travels) September 19, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    Finally is right! You are finally posting! Good Job!

  2. Tiffany September 20, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    Congrats on the new baby! And the new blog! With 3 kids, I feel for you. It just takes so much time to get out the door. And just when you think you are ready… you need to change a diaper. It seems like you have to allow an enormous amount of time to get ready (and that’s with putting out clothes and bathing kids the night before). I wish I could say it gets better, but I think you just get used to it.

    Of course, once you are out the door, the fun really starts… Let’s just say, that businesses with a drive-thru always win out with me (pharmacies, dry cleaners, etc…).

    • ladybugjen September 21, 2012 at 10:07 pm #

      Thank you! I can’t imagine 3 right now…maybe one day! Drive Thru’s are the best invention ever!!

Leave a comment